The Trustees of the Charity are accountable for the proper running of the organisation and fulfilment of its legal and regulatory duties

Chair of Trustees

Mick Horton FCGDent (2017*)


Jane Clarke (2023*)
Janet Clarke MBE FCGDent (2019*)
Onkar Dhanoya FCGDent (2022*)
Marie Parker FCGDent (2023*)
Neil Sawbridge (2017*)
Fred Thomson (2022*)

(* year of appointment)

Janet Clarke MBE

Janet Clarke FCGDent has recently stepped down as Deputy Chief Dental Officer for England. Her career has included chairing the BDA’s Central Committee for Community and Public Health Dentistry and leading negotiations to introduce the new contract for salaried primary care dentists, establishing a new pathway for career progression. In 2010, Janet was awarded the MBE for services to dentistry having 12 months previously been appointed by the Government to work alongside Professor Jimmy Steele in his Independent Review of NHS Dentistry. Previously, she worked as a clinical dental officer in a range of Midland health authorities before becoming Associate Director for Dental Services in 1991.

Fred Thomson

Fred Thomson is a solicitor specialising in procurement law. After graduating in computing, he became an IT systems engineer and consultant and programme manager, later completing a Bachelor’s in Law and Postgraduate Diploma in Legal Practice. He also holds an MSc in Engineering and Management, an LLM and a Level 7 Diploma in Strategic Management, and is a Member of the Institute of Engineering and Technology, Fellow of both the Institution of Analysts and Programmers and the Institute of Leadership, and a Chartered Fellow of the Chartered Management Institute. An officer in the Royal Naval Reserve for over 20 years, he holds the rank of Commander. He was also a mentor for the charity IntoUniversity, which helps young people achieve the best results they can in accessing higher education.

Mick Horton

Mick Horton FCGDent is a former Dean of FGDP(UK). He qualified from Manchester University in 1986, initially working in Fleetwood, Lancashire. In 1992 he purchased a mixed NHS/private practice in Caergwrle, North Wales. Dr Horton’s experience includes being a member of the Welsh Dental Committee and managed clinical networks, 22 years as Chair of his Local Dental Committee and ten years as the Vice-chair of his local Health Board, as well as working as postgraduate dental tutor and a dental nurse examiner.

Jane Clarke

Jane Clarke is a governance specialist in the professional body and not-for-profit sectors, and since retiring in 2020 has been appointed a Director of Landscape Services, Trustee of the Landscape Institute, and an Independent Person for a group of borough councils in Surrey. Previously she was Director of Governance Support and Group Secretary at the Royal College of Nursing; Company Secretary of its commercial subsidiary, RCNi; and a Founder of the RCN Foundation. From 1995-2006 she worked for the National Trust as Assistant Director for Committee Services and Administration, Deputy Secretary then Secretary, and prior to that she enjoyed a seventeen-year career at the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, where her posts included Head of the Executive Office and Director of Policy Coordination.

Marie Parker

Marie Parker FCGDent is the Deputy Programme Director of Hygiene and Therapy at University College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust London.  Since qualifying as a dental nurse, she has worked in various areas of dentistry and completed a number of leadership and management qualifications, as well as a Master’s in Education. An advocate and promoter of dental nursing careers, and of improving the accessibility of education and training for all registered dental care professionals, she has been involved in the training and education of dental nurses and other members of the dental team throughout most of her career.  She is a past Chair and Trustee of the National Examining Board for Dental Nurses, and Co-chair of the Dental Trailblazers group.

Onkar Dhanoya

Onkar Dhanoya FCGDent has been Principal Dentist at Honour Health, a mixed NHS-and-private dental group, since 1986, providing treatments including dental implants, facial aesthetics and orthodontics at its three practices across the North East of England. He graduated from Newcastle University in 1985, is a Fellow of the International College of Dentists and represented the Yorkshire and Northern region on the FGDP National Board, and later on the CGDent Council, from 2014-22. Chair of North Tyne LDC, and past President of the BDA’s Northern Counties branch, he has been a clinical teacher at Newcastle Dental Hospital since 1995 and a Director of Dental Protection since 2019. He served two terms as Vice Dean of the FGDP, was an MJDF examiner for ten years, and chaired the FGDP’s Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Programme Board.

Neil Sawbridge

Neil Sawbridge is an experienced banking and leasing Chief Financial Officer with a wide commercial background. Currently with Walbrook Asset Finance, he was previously CFO for Wyelands Bank and CFO Europe for the American group CIT. He is a qualified accountant.

Former Trustees

Kate Gregory (2019-2022)
Kevin Lewis FCGDent (2017-2022)
Ian Mills FCGDent (2018-2021)
Duncan Rudkin (2017-2019)
Prof Sir Nairn Wilson CBE FCGDent (2017-2020), Honorary Founding President
Lesley Pan (2019-2023)
Prof Elizabeth Kay FCGDent (2019-2023)

Join us | Sign up for College newsletter | Member Register | Patients and public

Privacy policy | Cookie policy | Contact

College of General Dentistry (CGDent), 124 City Road, London, EC1V 2NX
Company Registration No. 2586636 | Registered Charity No. 1002769