Roll of Honour

We are greatly indebted to the following for their support in the establishment of the College of General Dentistry. 

Founders – Founding Contributors – Contributors

The new College could not have come to fruition without the vision of those whose contributions led to the establishment of the Faculty of General Dental Practice (UK) and the original College of General Dental Practitioners (UK) in 1990/91, and successive Deans of the Faculty who have kept that vision alive.

Our Founders

Yas Aljubouri
Yousef Hassan Aljafar
Thomas Jack Bereznicki
(David) John Brookman
Luke Cascarini
Eugene Kin Keung Chan SBS BBS JP
Onkar Singh Dhanoya
Michael Dhesi
Prof Stephen Dunne
Shelagh Farrell
Simon Mark Gallier
Edgar Ramsay Gordon
Harish Gupta
Andrew McIntosh Hadden
Haidar Hassan
Keith Hayes
Audoen Marian Healy
Stephen Henderson
Michael Anthony Horton
Dr Peter O’N de Loughery
Kevin Lewis
Ian James Mills
Abhijit Kumar Pal
Simon Portman-Lewis
Raj Rattan MBE
Group Captain Mark Richardson
Seema Sharma
(Henry) Pearse Stinson
Neil Taylor
Shravan Kumar Tewary
Andrew Charles Toy
Prof Nairn Hutchison Fulton Wilson CBE
Ian Wood
Jeremy Andrew Woodcock

Founding Contributors

David Abdullah — Anirudha Agnihotry — Alpha Omega London Chapter and Charitable Trust —  Senathirajah Ariyaratnam — Rahul Kumar Arora — (Jeremy) Jerry Asquith —  Association of Dental Groups — Sukhvinder Singh Atthi — Prof Nick Barker — Adrian William Bennett — Paul David Blaylock — Igor Blum — Zena Brenchley — British Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry — British Association of Dental Therapists — British Association of Dental Nurses — British Society of Dental Hygiene and Therapy — British Society for the Study of Craniomandibular Disorders — China Britain Medical & Dental Association and China Britain Medical & Dental Academy —  Commonwealth Dental Association —  Jonathan Cowpe —  Dental Laboratories Association — Aditi Desai — John Charles Devennie — Kenneth Doig — Prof Kenneth Anthony Eaton — Prof Zbys Fedorowicz — Peter M. Frost BEM — Functional Orthodontics Support Group — Prof Stanley Gelbier — Elizabeth Glass — Lauren Harrhy — Esmail Fakirmohamad Harunani — Mohamad Nadeem Harunani — Mohamad Zaheed Harunani — Robert Hensher — Ross Hobson — Bruce Hogan — Dominic O’Hooley — Javed Ikram — Simon Quentin Jones — Murtaza Kanani —  Helen Kaney — Nigel Knott — Gillian Lennox —  Peter Renshaw Lowndes MBE — Dinesh Martin — Peter Martin — National Examining Board for Dental Nurses —  Oral Health Foundation — Royal Odonto-Chirurgical Society of Scotland —  Ruari Helen Mills — Kanesiah Nantheesan — Tan Minh Nguyen —Trentington Outhouse — Kaushik Paul — Keith Percival — Ralph Pickup — Tif Qureshi — Dr Deborah P. Reed — John Renshaw —  Vaibhav Sahni — William Sharpling —  Richard Staincliffe — Mike Starkey — Wendy Thompson — Patricia Thomson — Robbie Thomson — Dr Margaret Alexandra Wilson —  Mark Stuart Wright


Dr Mohamed Shaafiee Abdul Munim — Dr David Craig MBE — Raj Gogna — Christian Gollings — Prof Elizabeth Kay MBE — Dr Anthony S Kravitz OBE — Yann Maidment — James Main — Dr Donald McNicol — James Millar — Alasdair Miller — Christine Osborne — Carole Parker — Kevin Parr — Robin Richardson — Spencer Richman — Stephen Taylor — John Willmott — Peter Willy

Founders of predecessor bodies for general dental practitioners

The College of General Dentistry (CGDent) inherits a proud tradition from the Faculty of General Dental Practice (UK) (formerly the Faculty of General Dental Practitioners (UK)), its predecessors the FDS Advisory Board in General Dental Practice (ABGDP), Society for General Dental Surgery (later renamed the British Society for General Dental Surgery, BSGDS), and the College of General Dental Practitioners (CGDP(UK)). Subsequent to FGDP(UK) being formed, CGDP(UK) became dormant.

Amongst others, the following, including members of the Advisory Committee In General Dental Practice and the first Board of the Faculty of General Dental Practice (UK) contributed substantially in the initial development of the Faculty.

Harry Bailey — Marcus Bennett — Clive Bosley — (David) John Brookman — Christine Entwhistle — Nigel Entwhistle — Shelagh Farrell — Tom Farrell — John Gamon — Edgar Gordon — Professor Alan Grant — Richard Hayward — Mike Horrocks — John Horton — Hans Kurer OBE — Laurence Lando — Peter Lowndes MBE — John Moon — Ogilvie Nicoll — Malcolm Pendlebury — Jenny Pinder — Raj K Raja Rayan OBE — John Rayne — John Reeves — Stephen Rear MBE — Ario Santini — John Scott — Derrick Seel — Dame Margaret Seward CBE — David Watson-James — Brian Westbury

The following contributed to the establishment of CGDP(UK).

Peter Lowndes MBE (Chair) — Malcolm Pendlebury (Secretary) — Harry Bailey — Richard Hayward — Mike Horrocks — Ogilvie Nichol — Raj K Raja Rayan OBE — Julian Scott — Ario Santini

We are indebted to all who contributed to this rich history, together with others who lent their support to each of these historic initiatives, and welcome information to enrich the picture. An authoritative history of the development of general dental practitioner interests in the Royal College of Surgeons is contained in Shelagh Farrell’s article, The history of the Faculty of General Dental Practice (UK), Faculty Dental Journal 2(2), April 2011.

Deans of the Faculty of General Dental Practice (UK)

The following Deans of the Faculty laid the foundations for a new College over its 27 year history within the Royal College of Surgeons of England.

Stephen Bryan Rear MBE — Peter Renshaw Lowndes MBE — Malcolm Pendlebury — Raj Kumar Raja Rayan OBE — Michael John Mulcahy — (Joseph) Richard Tudor Hayward — Rasikkumar (Russ) Ladwa — Trevor William Ferguson — Michael Anthony Horton — Ian James Mills