We are greatly indebted to the following for their support in the establishment of the College of General Dentistry. You too can play a significant part in the historic founding of the College.

FoundersFounding ContributorsContributors

The new College could not come to fruition without the vision of those whose contributions led to the establishment of the Faculty of General Dental Practice (UK) and the original College of General Dental Practitioners (UK) in 1990/91, and successive Deans of the Faculty who have kept that vision alive.

Our Founders

Thomas Jack Bereznicki

(David) John Brookman

Eugene Kin Keung Chan BBS JP

Onkar Singh Dhanoya

Michael Dhesi

Prof Stephen Dunne

Shelagh Farrell

Simon Mark Gallier

Andrew McIntosh Hadden

Keith Hayes

Audoen Marian Healy

Stephen Henderson

Dr Peter O’N de Loughery

Kevin Lewis

Ian James Mills

Abhijit Kumar Pal

Simon Portman-Lewis

Raj Rattan

Group Captain Mark Richardson

Seema Sharma

(Henry) Pearse Stinson

Neil Taylor

Andrew Charles Toy

Prof Nairn Hutchison Fulton Wilson CBE

Ian Wood

Jeremy Andrew Woodcock

Founding Contributors

Alpha Omega London Chapter and Charitable Trust — Anirudha Agnihotry — Rahul Kumar Arora — (Jeremy) Jerry Asquith — Prof Nick Barker Paul David Blaylock — Igor Blum — Aditi Desai Kenneth Doig — Prof Kenneth Anthony Eaton — Prof Zbys Fedorowicz — Peter M. Frost BEM Prof Stanley Gelbier — Edgar Ramsay Gordon — Lauren Harrhy — Robert Hensher — Ross Hobson — Javed Ikram — Simon Quentin Jones — Peter Renshaw Lowndes MBE Dinesh Martin — Peter Martin — Trentington Outhouse — Keith Percival — Tif Qureshi — Richard Staincliffe — Wendy Thompson — Patricia Thomson — Robbie Thomson — Dr Margaret Alexandra Wilson


Dr David Craig MBE — Dr Anthony S Kravitz OBE

Founders of predecessor bodies for general dental practitioners

The College of General Dentistry (CGDent) inherits a proud tradition from the Faculty of General Dental Practice (UK), its predecessors the FDS Advisory Board in General Dental Practice (ABGDP), Society for General Dental Surgery (later renamed the British Society for General Dental Surgery, BSGDS), and the College of General Dental Practitioners (CGDP(UK)). Subsequent to FGDP(UK) being formed, CGDP(UK) became dormant.

Amongst others, the following contributed to the development of the Faculty from the Advisory Committee.

John Reeves — Prof Alan Grant — Derek Seel — Stephen Rear MBE — Shelagh Farrell — Hans Kurer — John Rayne — Jenny Pinder Edgar Gordon

The following contributed to the establishment of CGDP(UK).

Peter Renshaw Lowndes MBE (Chair) Malcolm Pendlebury (Secretary) Harry Bailey (Joseph) Richard Hayward Mike Horricks Ogilvie Nichol Ario Santini

We are indebted to all who contributed to this rich history, together with others who lent their support to each of these historic initiatives, and welcome information to enrich the picture. An authoritative history of the development of general dental practitioner interests in the Royal College of Surgeons is contained in Shelagh Farrell’s article, The history of the Faculty of General Dental Practice (UK), Faculty Dental Journal 2(2), April 2011.

Deans of the Faculty of General Dental Practice (UK)

The following Deans of the Faculty laid the foundations for a new College over its 27 year history within the Royal College of Surgeons of England.

Stephen Bryan Rear MBEPeter Renshaw Lowndes MBEMalcolm PendleburyRaj Kumar Raja Rayan OBEMichael John Mulcahy(Joseph) Richard Tudor HaywardRasikkumar (Russ) LadwaTrevor William Ferguson Michael Anthony HortonIan James Mills